Tees Valley CCGs get confirmation of merger plans

Tees-Valley-Area (1)

Clinical Commissioning Groups in Tees Valley have had their merger plans confirmed.

With effect from 1 April, the three Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) across Tees Valley will merge into one.

A single NHS Tees Valley CCG will be created, replacing CCGs NHS Darlington CCG, NHS Hartlepool and Stockton on Tees CCG and NHS South Tees CCG.

Story continues below

At the same time NHS County Durham CCG will also replace NHS Durham Dales, Easington and Sedgefield CCG and NHS North Durham CCG.

The two neighbouring CCGs will work closely together under a joint leadership team which has been in place since October 2018.

Dr Neil O’Brien will remain as the single Accountable Officer, supported by two chief officers (Nicola Bailey focusing on Tees Valley and Stewart Findlay focusing on County Durham).

Announcing the news, the CCGs detailed how working together as two closely linked CCGs will help them make the best use of resources while ensuring high quality services are equally available to all local residents across County Durham and Tees Valley.

The new arrangements are hoped to allow for improvements to the quality of health and care services provided for local people and working with local partners to align health and wellbeing priorities which support the needs of local people.

The new CCG Governing Bodies, which will continue to have representation from GP practices, lay membership for public and patient involvement, local clinical leaders and senior managers.

These mergers have been approved by NHS England and NHS Improvement, and sit within the framework outlined in the NHS Long Term Plan.

Tags : ccgmerger
Alex Douglas

The author Alex Douglas

Leave a Response