North West London CCGs put forward plans to merge eight groups into one


The eight NHS Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) in North West London have put forward a proposal to merge into a single CCG.

The eight CCGs are Brent, Central London, Ealing, Hammersmith and Fulham, Harrow, Hillingdon, Hounslow and West London.

All groups have been discussing the proposal of a merger for over a year, with plans now in place for this to take effect in April 2021.

Story continues below

Engagement with the public took place last year and the CCGs will be discussing further with local people and organisations over the next six weeks. The next steps will be to consult with the local councils in the area, all eight CCG governing bodies and local GP members. If the CCGs and GPs approve the proposal, an application will be sent to NHS England and Improvement at the end of September 2020. 

Jo Ohlson, accountable officer for the North West London CCGs said: “All eight CCG governing bodies agreed last year that this was the right direction of travel. Going forward we will retain a focus on managing key relationships locally, working closely with our GPs, hospitals, local councils, Healthwatch and voluntary organisations.”

Adding: “Each borough will continue to have its own team to ensure that the right services are provided for local needs. We have learned a great deal from the Covid-19 pandemic, notably about how we function better as one organisation as joint working across all parts of the NHS, in partnership with social care, has been critical to our response.”

Tags : ccgmerger
Alex Douglas

The author Alex Douglas

Leave a Response