More local authorities to take over CCGs amid tranche of mergers

GettyImages-1803610 nhs

The latest in a raft of merger announcements has revealed that four more clinical commission groups (CCG) in Greater Manchester are set to have their leadership merged with local authorities by the end of next year.

10 CCGs in the area have been told to establish a “single commissioning function” with their local councils. The CCGs, which are responsible for commissioning community equipment and wheelchair services in many areas, will be effectively merged with councils’ social care departments, according to the Health Service Journal.

Trafford, Rochdale and Oldham councils are set to take over from CCG leadership while Wigan CCG also intends to merge leadership roles, it was reported.

Story continues below

The news follows confirmation from NHS England last month that major consolidation will be brought about in April.

A total of 18 CCGs will be merged with one another to create six groups. The CCGs involved in the changes are Birmingham CrossCity, Birmingham South and Central, and Solihull; Leeds West, Leeds North, and Leeds South and East; Bristol, North Somerset and South Gloucestershire; Aylesbury Vale and Chiltern.

Meanwhile, a new Berkshire West CCG will be established by merging Newbury & District CCG, North & West Reading CCG, South Reading CCG and Wokingham CCG. Also, a new East Berkshire CCG will be created by merging Bracknell & Ascot CCG, Slough CCG, Windsor, Ascot & Maidenhead CCG.

Tags : ccgClinical Commissioning Groupcommunity equipmentmanchesterNHSwheelchair service
Joe Peskett

The author Joe Peskett

Leave a Response